NASHVILLE: Two new laws concerning recreational boating will become effective July 1 are aimed at increased safety on Tennessee waterways. The law will affect state residents and visiting non-residents alike.

State residents  born after Jan. 1, 1989 must now pass a boater education exam administered by an approved representative of the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency in order to operate any motorized vessel over 8.5 horsepower. Out of state residents are not exempt from this law and must present proof of successful completion of a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating safety course. Non-resident certification may be from their home state or any state issued course.

Tennessee residents can purchase a Type 600 Exam Permit online or from any hunting and fishing license vendor for $10 and go to a testing location to take the exam or take a class. Locations for testing and for classes can be found on the TWRA website under the boating section. For study materials telephone (615) 781-6682.

Share.

About Author

Christine Anne Piesyk has been a journalist for more than 50 years. Her credits include positions as Editor in Chief, Managing Editor, Staff Writer specializing in education, leisure living, food and arts and entertainment. She was co-producer, writer and on air persona for the Entertainment Review for 25 years. Now "retired," she finds herself working on online websites and as a book editor. In her other life, she is a costume designer in her daughter's company, Gemini Dream Designs.

Leave A Reply

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)