Summer Night Lights offers free food, games, crafts and sports

0

CLARKSVILLE:  The successful Clarksville youth program  Smmer Night Lights returns this summer with fun activities and free food designed to help them fight summertime  boredom.

The sixth season of the Mayor’s Summer Night Lights program will kick off June 4 and continue at various locations throughout the summer with DJs, athletic competitions, arts and crafts, local music performances, and more.

The fun begins Monday, June 4 at the Kleeman Recreation Center with 5-on-5 Basketball Tournaments for players age 14 and older. Participants must sign up at the center no later than 5:45 p.m. Visitors can compete in a dance competition with the Distinguished Steppers, enter to win prizes courtesy of event sponsors, and visit with vendors from the community.

Summer Night Lights, coordinated by the Clarksville Parks & Recreation Department, continues at eight locations on Mondays and Wednesdays from 5:30 to 9 p.m. through July 25. The program is designed for teens, but all ages are welcome. A meal is provided free of charge by Manna Café each night of the program.  Free swimming is provided from 6-8 p.m. June 4 at New Providence Pool and July 23 at Bel-Aire Pool.

Here is the complete Mayor’s Summer Night Lights program schedule:

  • Bel-Aire Park, 124 Marie Drive, Wednesday, June 13 and Monday, July 23
  • Caldwell Lane, 226 Caldwell Lane, Wednesday, June 27 and Wednesday, July 18
  • Chapel Street, Monday, July 2
  • Lettie Kendall Park, 300 A Street, Wednesday, June 20 and Monday, July 16
  • Lincoln Homes, 20J Howard Street, Wednesday, June 6 and Monday, June 25
  • Kleeman Center, 166 Cunningham Lane, Monday, June 4 and Wednesday, July 25
  • Summit Heights, 20 Summit Heights, Monday, June 11 and Wednesday, July 11
  • Edith Pettus Park, 345 Farris Drive, Monday, June 18 and Monday, July 9

For more information, contact Clarksville Parks and Recreation at 931-645-7476 and stay tuned to the Clarksville Parks and Recreation Facebook page for updates.

Share.

About Author

Christine Anne Piesyk has been a journalist for more than 45 years. Her credits include positions as Editor in Chief, Managing Editor, Staff Writer specializing in education, leisure living, food and arts and entertainment. She was co-producer, writer and on air persona for the Entertainment Review for 25 years. In "retirement," she finds herself working on online websites and as a book editor. In her other life, she is a costumer in her daughter's company, Gemini Dream Designs.

Leave A Reply

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)